Regress is also kind of progress

Remember the Friendship Day Socks I am knitting? That’s their current state.

friendship-day-sock-frog-small

Just kidding. I do actually have a bit more than that by now. But I did come to the point where I frogged both of them into little balls of yarn. I just could not continue convincing myself I was happy with the quality of my work.

friendship-day-sock-frog-small2

When I started knitting those socks, I completely shrugged off the well-known truth that multi-yarn knitting has a tendency to pull and be too tight. I have always been a rather loose knitter, so I thought that it will never become an issue for me. Besides, for the first time I was knitting with the inside out – a method advised to avoid pulling.

Let’s just say that I achieved loose knitting and pulling at the same time. For most of the time I convinced myself that it is ok for the socks to be a bit 3d (:P)and besides, it is more about the process anyway.

And then I passed the heels. And all of the sudden my tension went tighter. And it looked so much better. And I just could not lie to myself any more. So, I pulled the socks apart.
If only I had thought of how annoying it is to frog three yarns at the same time too! 😀

One thought on “Regress is also kind of progress

Leave a Reply

