How Are Those Resolutions Doing?

pelagias-sheep-on-christmas-treeBy now the holiday season is really over – this morning I even took out the juniper branches that was our version of the Christmas tree this year. I know I am a week late with my resolutions… I’ve been dwelling whether to set myself any craft goals for 2017 or not since Christmas, and finally decided to do it. There are two main reasons behind it.

For one, I feel that in general, I have been rather passive towards life this past year. To be honest, I can’t complain about 2016 on a personal level at all – I got engaged, I got a new job, I got to do some pretty fun freelance projects, I got to travel a lot and visited 3 new countries. However, with so much happening, it is so easy to just let things take place, and lose the habit of taking initiative. Instead, there are just excuses. What’s the point of calling up a friend to set up a dinner date, as I am in the country for just one week… I’m too tired from my last plane ride, so instead of reading a good book, let me waste my time on Facebook instead… I would totally finish knitting that baby blanket now, if only it wasn’t in the other apartment right now…

The second reason is much more pragmatic though 🙂 I held Christmas dinner for my close family in the apartment I have been living in on and off (and more off) for the last 4 years. My dinner table is usually pushed against a corner, and it has provided a nice dark little hiding place for all my yarn, unfinished projects, and who knows what else. But now when we had to move the table, there was no way to ignore the pile of boxes and baskets staring at me.

So, here are my resolutions for 2017:

  1. No more purchases of yarn until I have sorted out and started making use of the chaos in the corner of the living room.
  2. I will finish one project each month. And to help that I will start writing things down (so I can’t discard a project just because I forgot which size hook I used, or how I did my calculations), and blog about it to be more accountable.
  3. I will be more proactive. This does not only apply to yarn and crafts, but if my choice of entertainment for the evening is look at cat photos on the internet or knit, I will choose the latter!

Let’s keep an eye on each other, so we all actually pull through 😀

 

One thought on “How Are Those Resolutions Doing?

  1. Good job! I can honestly say I loose a few hours online. I’d like to cut it down a bit. I have a piano I need to spend more time with. I might make a little list today in my drawer. 🌞

    Like

Leave a Reply

